Logo Belsana

Compression classes

The level of pressure exerted on the legs depends on the severity of the patient's condition: in principle, the greater the damage to the venous system is and the softer the connective tissue has become, the stronger and thicker the compression stockings must be.

The RAL-Norm distinguishes between four compression classes (Ccl.):

Compression class Indications
1 = slight compression
(18–21 mm Hg)
- as a preventive measure
- heavy and tired legs
- minor varicose veins without any significant edema susceptibility
- varicose veins during pregnancy
2 = medium compression
(23–32 mm Hg)
- greater discomfort
- more pronounced varicose veins with an edema susceptibility
- post traumatic swelling
- after the healing process of insignificant ulcerations
- after superficial thrombophlebitis, sclerotherapy and operations on vericose veins
3 = firm compression
(34–46 mm Hg)
- constitutional or post thrombotic venous insufficiency
- serious edema susceptibility
- secondary varicose veins
- white atrophy
- after the healing process of serious, recurrent ulcerations
4 = very firm compression
(49 mm Hg and more)
- lymphatic edema
- elephantiasis

Instead of one stocking in compression class 4, it is recommended
that two stockings, one from compression class 1 and one from compression
class 3, be worn one on top of the other, as they are easier to put on.